Favorite Android Apps

image

As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I have a htc magic phone that runs on the google Android operating system. Like with the iphone, there is an app market for Android phones where you can download programs to run on your phone. Loss of them are freeand I enjoy experimenting with them, so I thought I’d review a few of my favorites.

Settings Profiles is an app that allows you to automatically change your phone settings based on certain conditions. For example, I can set my phone to go to silent every Sunday between 9:30 and 10:30 when I’m at church. The program can also detect your location, so when I’m at home I can turn off the security lock screen on the phone and turn on wifi to connect to my home network. Another interesting feature which I am yet to use, is the ability to detect a particular word in the phone calendar and change the settings. For example you could have the phone set to silent every time the word ‘meeting’ appears in your calendar.

I think this app is both cool and useful. Our is convenient to have different settings at different locations. It reduces the likelihood of embarrassing phone rings are inappropriate times – like the middle off the prayer after your sermon. And best of all, this is one app you can’t get on the iphone because it can’t run background apps.

There are a few other android apps that do the same thing, but one I tried didn’t seem to work, while the other cost $10, with no free trial. Settings Profiles has a limited free trial, and the full app costs US$3.95.

This entry was posted in Android. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

